Our spring sale is on! Use promo code SPRING24 at checkout to save 50% on any order!

The year's best writing on tech: a collection as imaginative and compelling as its dynamic subject

Look Inside

Copyright © 2007, University of Michigan. All rights reserved. Posted September 2007 and February 2008.

To view PDF files, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer. To find out more, please visit https://press.umich.edu/pdf/pdf_instructions.jsp.


The year’s best writing on tech: a collection as imaginative and compelling as its dynamic subject


“This book is not just an illuminating and instructive guide to our high-tech frontier. It’s also a great testimony to the power of that most ancient of technologies, the written word.”

—Steven Johnson, author of Everything Bad is Good for You


Together the essays in The Best of Technology Writing 2007 capture the versatility and verve of technology writing today. Solicited through an open online nominating process, these pieces explore a wide range of intriguing topics—from “crowdsourcing” to the online habits of urban moms to the digital future of movie production. The Best of Technology Writing 2007 will appeal to anyone who enjoys stellar writing.


Steven Levy is a Senior Editor at Newsweek, where he writes the biweekly column “The Technologist.” One of the most acclaimed and versatile technology writers in the country, Levy has written six books, including The Perfect Thing (about Apple’s iPod) and Hackers, which PC Magazine’s readers voted the best sci-tech book written in the last twenty years. He has written for many publications, including the New Yorker, the New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, and Wired.


Featuring contributions from


Kevin Berger

Paul Boutin

Kiera Butler

Joshua Davis

Julian Dibbell

Matt Gaffney

Lori Gottlieb

John Gruber

Jeff Howe

Kevin Kelly

Jaron Lanier

Preston Lerner

Farhad Manjoo

Justin McElroy

Ben McGrath

Katharine Mieszkowski

Emily Nussbaum

Jeffrey M. O’Brien

Larry O’Brien

The Onion

Adam L. Penenberg

John Seabrook

Philip Smith

Aaron Swartz

Clive Thompson

Jeffrey R. Young


digitalculturebooks is an imprint of the University of Michigan Press and the Scholarly Publishing Office of the University of Michigan Library dedicated to publishing innovative and accessible work exploring new media and their impact on society, culture, and scholarly communication. Visit the website at www.digitalculture.org.