Tony Hoagland

Tony Hoagland (1953–2018) was the author of six poetry collections, including Donkey Gospel (1998), winner of the James Laughlin Award; What Narcissism Means to Me (2003), a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; Unincorporated Persons in the Late Honda Dynasty (2010); and Priest Turned Therapist Treats Fear of God (2018). His two previous essay collections are Real Sofistakashun (2006) and Twenty Poems That Could Save America and Other Essays (2014). He received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Provincetown Fine Arts Work Center, as well as the Folger Shakespeare Library’s O. B. Hardison Prize for Poetry and Teaching, the Poetry Foundation’s Mark Twain Award, and the Jackson Poetry Prize from Poets & Writers. Hoagland taught at the University of Houston and the Warren Wilson MFA program.

Books By Tony Hoagland